fbpx

Jesús Guerrero-Paquette

Experience

5 Years

Tutoring

Latin, Greek, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese

About Me

Salve, quomodo te habes? My name is Jesús Guerrero-Paquette. I am originally from Venezuela and I speak Spanish, English, Italian and Latin. I am proficient in New Testament Greek and I have a basic level of Portuguese.

I have a B.A. in Libral Arts from Anáhuac University in Puebla, México, and a B.A. in Philosophy from the Pontifical Athenaeum Regina Apostolorum in Rome, Italy.

Since 2010, when I joined Seminary, I have been living in international environments which fostered my ability to learn and understand languages. My peers were from all over the world and more often than not, I would be having dinner with 10 guys, each one of them from another country. I have taught Latin for beginners, Classical Christian Latin, Oratores Romanorum (Cicero, Quintilianus and Augustune) and Roman poetry at the Legion of Christ College in Cheshire, Connecticut.

I have taught seminarians from South and North America, Europe and Asia.

I have also tutor in several languages such as: Latin, Greek, Spanish, Italian and English. Feel free to reach out and ask me questions to see how we could work together!

Linguistic Experience

  • Latin: Proficient
  • Greek: Proficient in New Testament
  • Spanish: Native speaker
  • Italian: Fluent and proficient
  • Portuguese: Basic

Preferred Curriculum / Book

Lingua Latina per Se Illustrata

What other curricula/books are you willing to use?

Any grammar book that also has stories or texts to read at the end of the lesson. Otherwise, I would provide a little paragraph to approach the language.

Do you use the natural (spoken) method?

Yes

How would you describe your teaching style?

My teaching style is geared towards understanding the culture and the language. I prefer the spoken method but I adapt to the students, goals and needs of every classroom and students.

Are you willing to teach classical Latin upon request?

Yes

30 Minute Trial Lesson:

Hourly Rate:

$25.00

$55.00

Special Rates: Group price would be negotiable.

Availability

Preferred / normal time zone: Eastern U.S.

  • Monday: 1-3 PM
  • Tuesday: 3-5 PM
  • Wednesday: 3-5 PM
  • Thursday: 3-5 PM
  • Friday: 3-5 PM
  • Saturday: Depends

Tutoring Locations

Online Only

Homeschool Co-ops?

Yes, virtually.

Ages

Middle school students and up.